Order of Australia (AM) for services to medical education, on the Queen’s Birthday honours list.

Doctor of Medicine honoris causa, The University of Newcastle

John Sands Medal for distinguished services to the College and Fellowship, Royal Australasian College of Physicians

2014 University of Newcastle, School of Medicine and Public Health, Faculty of Health and Medicine Award for outstanding achievement and excellence.
2012 Fellowship of the Australian & New Zealand Society for Geriatric Medicine
2011 NSW Premier’s Award for Innovation in Frontline Delivery
2011 The Director General’s Innovation Award
2011 The NSW Health Award for Building the Health Workforce
2011 Hunter New England Local Health District Quality Award for Building the Health Workforce
2007 NSW Health Minister’s Excellence Award for “Setting Them Up to Succeed”
2007 NSW Health Baxter Award for Building a sustainable health workforce for the AMC Graduate Program – setting them up to succeed.
2007 ANZAME award for a distinguished track record in medical education.